I Want to Know What YOU Think

If you’ve been reading my blog from the beginning, and/or you’ve had a look at my About page, you know already that I spend 15 hours a day in front of the computer and another eight hours a day sleeping. I’ve been doing that for quite a few years, and have grown comfortable with the life I lead, so that I am steadily inching toward true happiness. The parts of their lives that other people take for granted, and which aren’t part of mine, are not things I particularly feel like I miss. I am living life the way I want–unorthodox and likely to evoke judgment and condemnation from some quarters, but not from the reasonable people I surround myself with online.

Since I started this blog 10 days ago, it has gradually devoured more and more of my waking day. Last month, I got free trials to online magazine feeds such as NextIssue and Zinio, and was happily reading magazines for hours a day. I also got a free trial to Netflix and was watching various TV shows that I never would have bothered to watch on television. I got a free trial to Scribd and began reading books in their feed. I was watching the Free Ballgame of the Day on mlb.tv. For a while, I was playing World of Warcraft. And then I did all the usual things people do online–emails with various contacts, forum reading and posts, even live chat in a select few irc chatrooms (and, yes, you can find ones that aren’t overrun with perverts and lecherous teenagers if you look carefully and are selective). But I no longer do any of that. All I do from sunup to sundown is write blog posts, read other people’s blogs, exchange emails with bloggers, reply to comments–and, obsessively, tinker with my blog’s layout and options. I’ve stopped being a well-rounded netizen and become a full-time blogger.

I want to ask you what you think of that. You already know that I can’t work for reasons I’ve already described, that I have few responsibilities, that I am single and childless and uninvolved with anyone, and that my sub-poverty-line handout is secure for the next 18 years. Am I doing the right thing by devoting my life to this activity just because I want to and it passes the time pleasantly? And, of more importance, am I accomplishing anything that I wouldn’t accomplish if I were staring at a TV set and drinking dollar-store apple juice all day?

Please let me know.

14 thoughts on “I Want to Know What YOU Think

  1. You keep up the good work Kheleya , if you inspire just one person a day, that’s a good day and Im sure your blog will give you a sense of accomplishment. You have helped me and that post you inspired me to write is now up if you want to take a look.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I would say that almost anything is better than sitting in front of the TV! But that may be because I get super headaches when I do for too long. Regardless, what you are doing is worthwhile because you’re making people happy with your writing and it’s an awesome way to create new connections and learn from different people.
    Also, if you enjoy it, why wouldn’t you do it? There seems to be an inherent notion in our society that by doing something you enjoy you are being selfish, but I don’t think that’s the case at all. Everyone should enjoy what they’re doing, otherwise what’s the point? I’d much rather enjoy life while I can then do things that people see as ‘necessary’. I get very annoyed when people don’t put the same value on writing as they do for a whole lot of other things.
    Keep up the awesome blog 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for the vote of confidence. Funny, but everyone who has cast their vote here has been supportive of my endeavor. The people who don’t like what I’m doing are staying silent–or don’t know about it. Both of which are fine with me. Please come back often for mroe.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Well, I can only answer this by saying you made a huge difference to me when you popped over to my blog, took the time to make a comment, and even gave me a follow! You made my day! And if you read some of my latest posts, you’ll soon see why that means so much to me right now! I’m sorry for your disability (haven’t read about it yet only see it mentioned here) but I’m very glad you found this site and you make a difference just by being here! Again, referencing some of my latest posts….please be aware that right now I am reading posts, but not posting too often living in the midst of chaos as I am at this time. So take no notice of my absence right now…generally I’m pretty regular at posting and will be again after the next three weeks are over! 🙂 Thank you again.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I dug out the blog post on your blog that you’re referring to. Honestly, you make being a person of means sound like a nightmare–although I’m sure it has its benefits too. Thank you for making me feel more accepting of my own poverty and limited circumstances. The grass ain’t always greener.

      Like

      1. Hmmm. You seem to have a largely different definition of “a person of means” than I do. I would never describe myself as a person of means by any stroke of the imagination. Though I can definitely agree with you that I take entirely too much for granted. I am most sorry for your limited circumstances and in no way meant to offend you, so I hope you didn’t take it that way. In your posts and comments, you seem so secure in yourself and that you’re living how you wish to live to the best of your abilities, I guess perhaps I misinterpreted all that. I think if you’re happy (as your post stated you were) then that’s all you need to worry about in life. Just go forward and live in the best ways you can find for yourself and happiness will follow you! Best advice I can give. (Will admit I’m working on that concept myself!) 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        1. I’ve observed that what you say about the definition of “person of means” is actually quite common among upper-middle-class people. A former friend of mine had a 15-bedroom house in Upper New York State and earned $300,000 a year with an asset management firm and said he was “just a guy with a job.” That’s pretty standard thinking for people who have significant income and assets, as they tend always to have their heads craned upward, looking at whoever has more money than them. Think about how that sounds to someone with my $9,000-a-year disability check (and the poverty line where I live is $17,000). But I’m not trying ot blame anyone for my low income, and I don’t resent the fact that other people are materially better off than I am. Just making an observation about how things look to a fairly bright guy who is off the bottom of the economic ladder with his butt in the muck. Thing sure do look a lot different from down here.

          Like

          1. Yes, can definitely assure you that I do indeed understand your perspective. I’m grateful for everything my husband and I have managed to achieve in the course of almost 30 years together. Truly I am grateful. Will also assure you that we do not, nor have we ever, owned a 15-bedroom house or anything close to that! 🙂 Can also tell you that what we have built, we have built from the bottom up, starting from the point where your $9,000.00 per year income would look like the King of Siam! Promise. Besides,….right now, I don’t have the energy to hold my head up let alone keep it craned up worrying about who’s ahead of us. One foot in front of the other….every day. Same for you. Perhaps if your blog “takes off” like I’ve heard some do, you’ll be able to supplement that income……you’ve got the time for it, stranger things have happened, right?

            Liked by 1 person

            1. Thank you for controlling your temper because sometimes I can be a bit blunt. 🙂 I really, really want to avoid being any kind of cliche. That’s why, even at age 49, I never bemoan “young people” and say that things were better Back In The Day, or make blanket statements about “women” the way so many men do–or, indeed, express a poor person’s standard resentment for those who have more than him. It helps that i’ve never been jealous when other people make money. Quite a bit of friction between the various economic strata arises from just that kind of jealousy. And of course I accept that you weren’t handed anything on a silver platter. If you really had been born with a silver spoon up your butt, your approach to me would likely be quite different, because I’ve talked to quite a few such people in my half century of life. You’re obviously someone who has worked for what she has.

              And I do have one teensy-weensy goal that I don’t mind discussing publicly because it’s hardly a commercially sensitive business idea. Yes, in my blog, I say that I am content with how things are now and live in the present, avoiding all hope, but there is something I’ve still been thinking about. I have close to 40 short stories that I want to make available for reading, in such a way that people would have a fair chance to find out that my work exists and could decide for themselves whether to read it. I would like to set up my own website where those stories are available for online reading or download under a Creative Commons non-commercial licence (which permits all noncommercial uses with no obligations to me except attribution, but strictly prohibits everything commercial). On the website I’d also have a facility for contributions, or perhaps donations, for those readers who find it in their hearts to slip me a few bucks in appreciation for the entertainment I’m providing free of charge. The highly progressive and generous disability system around here permits “gifts and windfalls” of up to $5,000 a year and savings of up to $6,000 a year without benefits being affected. It would be nice to have a little nest egg just in case of disaster. But that’s just something I’m pondering, not something I’m activley planning.

              Like

              1. Wow. That sounds like a great plan. However, word of warning….alot of people I’m familiar with on here have had real issues with “copyright” infringements with stuff they have posted online. So do be sure before you post any of your original works anywhere that you do your research about how best to protect your work. Am wondering if perhaps a small sample of what you have written (like just a few stories instead of them all) might not be a better way to proceed just in case of something like this happening. This way even you lose the few stories to some baddie out there, you’ll have enough feedback (hopefully) to see if it’s worth printing up a book (self-publish perhaps?) and making that little extra “dough”? Just my thoughts…….

                Liked by 1 person

                1. Copyright infringement runs rampant in certain environments. For example, in China, copyright infringement of Western work is so widespread that even billion-dollar entertainment industry companies don’t bother to fight it any more. In the English-speaking world, it’s very possible to detect and fight copyright infringement, but, in order to do it, you need money to pay a lawyer. That’s something I don’t have, so I’d be vulnerable. It’s a matter requiring some thought. Thanks for helping me think things through. 🙂

                  Like

  4. If you are happy, then that is what matters. If you cannot work, and do not enjoy person to person interaction, then you are dong what is right for YOU. It doesn’t matter what others say. The other things that have slid off onto the side lines aren’t possibilities you have blocked, they are still possibilities that you can go back and visit in the future. How far in the future? That’s up to what you enjoy doing.

    As for making a difference? You are you. Interacting with people, giving them a smile, a thumbs up, or even just putting a post on their blog is often enough to make someone feel better. Lets us all feel like we are a bit more connected and not so isolated.

    And, in all of your amblings through the blogosphere, you probably see a ton of information, that when correlated can provide good advice, or even information resources to many others. Sometimes, those of us without quite so much time to devote to ferreting out the little bits and pieces really love hitting the random windfalls of information. That is making a difference – for you and/or for others.

    Keep up the good work. You seem to have a thick enough skin (metaphorically speaking), that if you hit something controversial, the masses won’t drive you down into the dumps. You make people think. That is ALWAYS a good thing in my book!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

