The Joys of Estupididad

On Black Friday, my brother saw a 50% off deal on a refurbished desktop, so he asked me whether I wanted it. The idea was that he would pay for it, I’d start using it as soon as it arrived, and I’d give him a bit of money each month until I had paid him off. There were only a few units left for sale and they were going quickly, so I had to make a decision pretty much instantly. Without thinking about it, I said yes. The computer arrived on Tuesday and I’ll pay my first instalment out of the December check.

I’ve had some time to reflect on why my top-of-the-head decision was to have a computer again. My two-plus months without a computer had begun well, with me feeling liberated and alive, but had gradually deteriorated until I was mired in ennui. I found myself increasingly watching television as a substitute for my old computer activities, still stuck at my desk but passively staring at the display instead of interacting with what’s behind it. The absence of a computer turned out not to be a long-term improvement. I had nothing to lose from having a computer again other than the ever-keener awareness of the pointlessness of existence. While that awareness is our species’ most authentic experience, I find that I cannot sustain it for 16 straight hours a day, week after week.

So here I am. Hopefully, you’re still here too. Let me know how you’ve been doing.

4 thoughts on “The Joys of Estupididad

  1. Well I believe we should buy something only if we need it, not because it’s cheap. But then again, this might turn out to be one of the best decisions you’ve ever made. So, good luck. 🙂

    Like

  2. It’s a pleasant surprise to see your post.
    It’s getting cold in Tokyo, with the days getting shorter. But otherwise, pretty much the same here.
    If you want to see any new animal photos, you’re welcome to stop by (if you feel like it, of course) 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s always good to hear from you, T. We’ve also had shorter and shorter days, with the sun setting close to 4:30 pm now. Please let me know how to find the new posts you’ve made, because I’d like to have a look at them.

      I heard about an earthquake in Japan, with buildings collapsed and people hurt. Was that anywhere near you?

      Like

      1. Thanks for your prompt reply!
        You can click on ‘T Ibara Photo’ that shows next to my avatar, or, here is the URL to my site: http://tibaraphoto.wordpress.com/

        I also appreciate your concern about the Nagano earthquake. It’s quite a distance from Tokyo, so while we did get some shaking (which was scary) it’s not nearly as bad as what the locals there had to go through. Mother Nature has been kicking our butts this year…which is not surprising considering all the damage we’re doing to the earth/each other, I guess 😦

        Thanks again,
        Takami

        Like

Leave a Reply

